Little grocery heaven

I stopped by the Bi-Rite supermarket on 18th Street in Mission Dolores this afternoon on my way back from working out at Gold’s Gym SOMA.  I debated whether to stop at Whole Foods since a new one has opened around the corner from my gym, in the furniture district of SOMA / Potrero.  But I went to Bi-Rite to pick up my free-range chicken and organic veggies for tonight’s dinner instead.  Bi-Rite is small but has a great selection of locally farmed meats and vegetables, as well as a helpful staff.   Its the gourmet grocery for folks for whom even Whole Foods isn’t snooty enough.

dept_produce2.jpg

Although it does not have parking and its generally a difficult area for that,  during the middle of a work day I have good luck there.  And again today I parked on 18th just a few doors down.  I quickly picked up some locally grown Treviso Radicchio to braise with Half Moon Bay brussels sprouts.  I selected yams to roast with the Fulton Valley fryer.  Then I was out, running through the rain back to my car to continue the few blocks home.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Leave a Reply

