A taxing time

I do my own taxes.  They’re not complicated just some income, the mortgage deduction and some miscellaneous stuff.  This year (or really I suppose last year) California’s domestic partnership rules are in effect meaning any couple in a registered domestic partnership relationship (my boyfriend and I) file as a married couple for California State tax purposes.  Which is fine, but that also means we have to now do our Federal taxes twice.  Once as single filers to satisfy the IRS and again as married to comply with the new California rules. O, the Joy!  And though I am hopeful that in the near future more and more states will allow full gay marriage, I don’t have the same hope for changes at the Federal level.  Alas this extra annual workload is going to continue.

At least Turbo Tax has already made the changes.

Leave a Reply

