Manolos, Jimmy Choos, Skechers and the homeless – oh, and the Real Housewives

On my morning errands around Noe Valley I’ve come across a couple pairs of shoes left out, apparently for the homeless.  I see this every once in a while.  I don’t see them downtown, the Castro or the Mission – but perhaps because they get snatched up faster.  Anyway they got me to thinking about San Franciscans and the reputation for being bleeding hearts.  Now, these shoes were not Manolos or Jimmy Choos, spanking new-in-box.  They were old beat up cheap pairs.  So I don’t think it took much heart-bleeding to let go of them.  Just a thought that maybe they would be taken if left outside rather than thrown in the trash.

Still, I then got to thinking (how my thoughts wander) about people in different parts of the country.  I can’t see the ‘Real Housewives of Orange County’ leaving shoes out on the sidewalks of their gated communities.  And they never seemed to go anywhere poor people tread.  And the OC has plenty of poor people, and homeless – take a visit to Santa Ana.  The OC Real Housewives value money and beauty – I don’t imagine they spend much mental energy thinking about how to help the homeless.  Aside from mentally ditto-ing whatever Rush has to say about them that day.  I think if they actually understood how Jesus wanted them to live they would go ‘Ooooh yuck!’

The ‘Real Housewives of New York’ – now some (some) of them indeed had charitable instincts.  One (the Countess) was involved in an organization to help former drug addicts back into the workforce with clothes and interview coaching.  Like, she actually sat down and talked to people who needed help.  Not just gave some tax-deductible money to churches that ditto-ed radio talking points.

Regardless, I’m not leaving shoes out because I think they’ll just end up blowing down the hill I live on, and / or get chewed up by the parade of passing pooches.

Leave a Reply

