Friday the 13th

Superstitious is probably the last adjective people would use to describe me, but I do have a secret fear of Friday the 13th.  Yesterday I had to hold my breath all day, waiting for something yucky to happen.  And when on Thursday I found out that a friend had a critical job interview scheduled for Friday afternoon, I was a little nervous for him.

Now, I know that on any given day in the world things happen.  But yesterday my Friday the 13th trepidations were blown away by getting a call from my friend, right at the time his job interview should have been over – the employer offered him the job right on the spot!

A few hours later, I got an email from the editor of the SoMa Literary Review, Kemble Scott, saying they would like to include my short piece “Red Glitter Shoes” in an upcoming edition.

So now I am only about half as scared of Friday the 13th as I used to be.

Leave a Reply

