Tuesday ramblings

It has been another busy week – every time I sit down to write a post I’m interrupted by something. I’ve got half a dozen posts sitting in the draft folder now. Time to actually catch up!

Last week I was busy with a couple client projects: one to condense the copy of a slew of existing case studies to a few hundred words; and the other to write a paper to be sent out as collateral to a webinar on the topic of how to rescue troubled IT projects. Both were on tight deadlines, and the latter required setting up Skype! call recording so that I would have enough material to write from when I interviewed the expert on project rescue. Without that it would have been impossible to get enough notes from the one hour conversation to put the paper together.

As it turned out I did get the projects done. And luckily for me I was not due to deliver any material to either of my two creative writing groups last week. But this week I have both groups – and I’ve been working on a new scene.

Over the weekend Shmoopy and I went indoor skydiving at iFly in Fremont with our nephews, who live in Aptos. It was a great set up – you get to float in a windowed “silo” whose floor is a flexible wire mesh over some sort of powerful fan or propeller. You can’t see what it is – it’s all hidden in ducts below. But it can rev up quickly. An instructor keeps you from blowing around every which way as a propeller pushes the air up at from 95 to 115 mph. It was a blast. We all ended up at the In n’Out Burger next door. And Shmoopy didn’t even heave. It didn’t strike me as the kind of thing where one would get motion sick although it must happen, as the instructor gave us a special hand signal in case we needed to get out fast.

Shmoopy and I went to the new Star Trek film on Saturday evening – we’re fans but not Trekkies and liked the way it was done. That series needed some freshening. Nothing too drastic but, what was done was good. After the movie we ended up at the Schnitzel Haus on 9th at Folsom. I must have driven past that location many times at night looking for nightclub parking in SOMA without noticing it. We love german food – and it has romantic allure for us because our very first date was at a german restaurant in Los Altos (whose name I can’t recall right now, ack! I think it was Black Forest). The food and beer were yummy.

I’ve got to get the new scene started. So no posting about the beans and tomatoes I planted over the weekend yet. Later.

Leave a Reply

