LDS = Latter Day Slayers

My previous post about liberal church-goers needing to rethink their continued support of oppressive, homophobic religious hierarchies by happenstance coincided with the death (apparently suicide) of Marie Osmond’s gay son.  Roseanne Barr posted about the oxymoron by way of ignorance of Marie Osmond finding comfort in her religion, when it’s virulent homophobia was the main culprit in her son’s sad death.

because he had been told how wrong and how sick he was every day of his life by his church and the people in it. Calling that “depression” is a lie!
Yet the Osmonds still talk lovingly about their church, saying nothing about its extremely anti-gay Crusade. Marie also has a gay daughter! Hey, I want her and all the gay kids in the world to know that they are just fine being gay and that they deserve love and respect instead of insults and rebuke! I have gay people in my family and my circle of friends and I am kicking bigot ass and taking names!

I say Yea Roseanne! I never watched your show (I tried gurrrl!) but you are gutsy and right!

We cannot be silent about this.

Leave a Reply

